This is not the end.

(Video Summing up all the topics by me )

The most important lesson I took from all the lessons in the course is the importance of self-branding and self-marketing. As a future marketer I must be able to sell myself as a brand. This module has provided the perfect tool set for me to do so. With these tools this is how I intend to manage online identity;

Social media/Online Identity improvements

Facebook and Instagram

I’ve decided to use Facebook and Instagram only for personal use and adjusted my privacy settings in a way that the information and content I shared stay private. However, I’ve also started to limit my past posts and also be more careful about what I am sharing especially if it is anything related to current affairs.

Screen-Shot-2016-11-24-at-2.29.07-PM.png

LinkedIn

I’ve had a LinkedIn account but I haven’t really paid much attention to it. The only few times I log in is to update my work history or maybe to change the profile picture.

After topic 3 my perspective on LinkedIn changed as it is portrayed as an important tool for a jobseeker to set the right impression. By establishing a LinkedIn profile and also networking with the right people it’d help to set the right impression and digital footprint.

I’ve been working on my LinkedIn profile and was able to reach “Expert” level in LinkedIn.

Screen Shot 2016-11-24 at 2.34.20 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-11-24 at 2.35.44 PM.png

(Added summary to LinkedIn)

Screen Shot 2016-11-24 at 2.39.05 PM.png(Followed more companies)

Twitter

I’ve decided to use twitter as my public profile which can be used for both personal and professional use. All the content that I share on my twitter would be filtered and appropriate. I’ll be using twitter more to keep updated in real time and to update others.

Screen Shot 2016-11-24 at 2.41.53 PM.png

Behance

As a designer it is important to display my portfolio and work in a place that can be viewed by everyone at any time . Behance provides this platform and it is important for me to brand myself in in the platform.
I plan on creating a Behance portfolio and display my work there which can be searched up by potential clients.

Participating in online communities and forums

It is important to take part in discussions and to provide constructive feedback to users based on the topics discussed. This module has really provided me with the perfect opportunity to communicate and collaborate with others and really opened my eyes on the importance of this.I plan to keep writing blog posts and take part in forums and other online communities and provide a good input into these communities.

 Furthermore, the module was also able to further my knowledge into areas such as cyber security. The module helped me to distinguish between ethical and unethical uses of the internet. This new knowledge would help me to further strengthen my career at the same time be ethical about the type of activity I conduct online. The module also helped me in critical thinking and improved my skills in analysis.

Self Test

Infograph-for-MANG-2049.png

(Infographic I made with the changes in the self test)

Leave a Reply

